• Polaroid Android: Banana Rica

    Article by Ey@el

    Original en français

    Share on Twitter

    As you may know, about five years ago, I have been forced by circumstances (a gift of providence) to remove gluten from my diet and have weaned myself off that dangerous hard drug with pernicious effects, still freely available off the shelf, widely promoted and added to everything we eat or drink (or as a synthetic form even more harmful known as sweeteners). I am talking about sugar, of course. Believe me, life didn't become tasteless for all that, rather the opposite. Now sugar really puts me off and the fact I can remain unaffected by the sight or smell of the most tantalising pastries, candy, chocolate or else is proof that my withdrawal has been successful.

    Here is a recipe from my previous life as a “sugar-addict” adapted to the diet of my new healthy life which tastes even better than it used to. It is of course gluten-free and contains no added sugar. The emphasis is only on “added” as bananas naturally contain sugar (especially when ripe), rum is obtained by fermenting sugar cane (alcohol = sugar), and any flour contains slow sugars (complex carbohydrates) that your liver stores as glycogen and processes as glucose, the essential fuel used by metabolism and cellular functions in your body.

    Ingredients

    Makes 10-12 crepes :

    - 2 bananas
    - 80 g rice flour
    - 45 g quinoa flour
    - 1 tsp baking soda
    - 1 tsp apple cider vinegar (ACV)
    - 2 tbsp rum
    - olive oil (to fry)

    Directions

    Mash bananas with a fork and add rum.

    Mix flours with baking soda and add ACV.

    Add mashed bananas and mix thoroughly until you obtain a thick smooth batter.

    Heat some good quality olive oil (use stainless steel and avoid non-stick coating frying pans as it's made of toxic materials) and deposit small heaps of preparation. Brown each side for a few minutes.

    Serve as is or as a side dish and/or with tea or coffee.

    NOTE: You may add sultanas (soaked for 10 minutes in rum), vanilla or spices such as ground cinnamon, ginger or cardamom. I never tried because I'm allergic to most tropical fruits, but  I guess it must tastes great with fresh pineapple. Why not sprinkle with grated coconut or pure cocoa powder? Be creative, experiment and let me know about it

    Ey@el

    Reproduction of the above contents is strictly prohibited.
    © lapensinemutine.eklablog.com. All rights reserved.


    #Polaroid Android

    « Polaroid Android: A Musical JourneyPolaroid Android: Head Over Heels »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: