• Diamonds

    Music & lyrics by Hard Rain

    Share on Twitter

    No matter how hard you try to sweep away the past in order to move on, get rid of both good and bad memories so as to travel light, free of any attachments, nostalgia, regrets, and frustration — there are things that still won't go easy and tend to resurface when least expected. It might be because we did not make the most of these yet and there may be more lessons to be learned there. Or maybe not. Sometimes, good memories just serve to warm our hearts in our darkest hours, reminding us that some deeply ingrained riches that we have forever carved inside, pure and precious as diamonds, may still enlighten us. Just like this wonderful song by Hard Rain, an up-and-coming British band I first heard in London as they were supporting another unrecognised band from California. I remember interviewing Marcus, the singer, a couple of days later in some pub in Chelsea where he had entertained me about his hopes. And fears. The following year, they would release two exciting singles on London Records, then nothing. Oh, the frustration of never even have an album of theirs to listen to! Thus you can imagine my surprise when I came across this video. Some thirty years later this song has not aged and is still as good to hear. And I do hope you will enjoy it too.

    Ey@el

    If looks could kill
    And strip you of your skin
    So I can see
    Without from within you
    I believe
    Yes, I believe
    If I was certain

    In this place
    I feel the sense of something
    In the air
    To reach it out and grab it
    I'm not there
    But I still see you
    I thought you were a friend

    And I still see those diamonds
    In your eyes
    If I could see them sparkle
    One more time
    But now I know that you can
    Never hide
    Your foolish pride
    Away

    Time will tell
    Which one of us was wrong
    I'm telling you
    That something's got to change
    And I believe
    Well, I'm not certain
    But I hear you calling

    And I still see those diamonds
    In your eyes
    If I could see them sparkle
    One more time
    But now I know that you can
    Never hide
    Your foolish pride
    Away

    I said I hear you

    And I still see those diamonds
    In your eyes
    If I could see them sparkle
    One more time
    But now I know that you can
    Never hide
    Your foolish pride
    Away

    © Marcus Myers, 1988

    Back to top

    Bottom of page

    « FlagsThe Unstoppable Awakening of Humanity – Symptoms of the Shift »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: