• Space Oddity

    Music & lyrics by David Bowie

    On 10th January 2016, the Starman, as he was called his whole life, passed away. There followed the many fan tributes and all the media hijacking, the lucrative flogging of compilations and other memorabilia plus the numerous easy-money-making cover versions (funny how everyone cares about you when you're in the limelight and how quickly forgotten you become when out-of-focus again). A hero for some, a Satanist for others, Bowie was only a mere mortal after all (maybe a “Starseed”?) entrapped by the Matrix as many are, and whose music clearly influenced entire generations. I must confess that I only have his Ziggy Stardust (vinyl) LP which never impressed me that much.

    However, I've always been very fond of this song inspired by the Apollo 11 space mission that would launch only five days after the single's release in July 1969 (a perfect match for the theme of the week). Besides, the title is a pun alluding to 2001: A Space Odyssey, Kubrick's cult movie released a year before that. A legendary track which gained new popularity following the death of its author, reaching number one in the French Singles Chart (the Year of The Sheep wasn't fully over yet, that is).

    As a bonus, you'll also find a simple and unceremonious acoustic cover version. You may probably find thousands of these on YouTube and I may be biased (the singer happens to be an old friend of mine) though not that much as those who know me well would tell you about my most selective taste in music and how pretty critical but fair (and constructive) I am. Well, whatever... Don't forget to leave a comment, it'll make him happy. And if you don't, I'll send you Major Thom — he knows where you live!

    Ey@el

    Ground Control to Major Tom...
    Ground Control to Major Tom:
    Take your protein pills and put your helmet on.
    Ground Control to Major Tom
    (Ten, Nine, Eight, Seven, Six)
    Commencing countdown, engines on...
    (Five, Four, Three)
    Check ignition and may God's love be with you!
    (Two, One, Liftoff)

    This is Ground Control to Major Tom:
    You've really made the grade
    And the papers want to know whose shirts you wear.
    Now it's time to leave the capsule if you dare.

    This is Major Tom to Ground Control:
    I'm stepping through the door
    And I'm floating in the most peculiar way
    And the stars look very different today.

    For here am I sitting in my tin can
    Far above the world,
    Planet Earth is blue
    And there's nothing I can do.

    Though I'm past one hundred thousand miles
    I'm feeling very still
    And I think my spaceship knows which way to go.
    Tell my wife I love her very much, she knows.

    Ground Control to Major Tom:
    Your circuit's dead, there's something wrong.
    Can you hear me, Major Tom?
    Can you hear me, Major Tom?
    Can you hear me, Major Tom?
    Can you hear...

    And I'm floating around my tin can
    Far above the Moon,
    Planet Earth is blue
    And there's nothing I can do.

    © David Bowie, 1969

    Earthman to Starman

    Back to top

    Bottom of page

    « NASA Just Confirmed That Earth Has A New “Mini-Moon”Looks Like Official “UFO” Disclosure Is Finally Coming To The United States. But… »

    Tags Tags: , , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: