• So. Central Rain (I'm Sorry)

    Music & lyrics by R.E.M.

    A melancholic song from the Reckoning album which had introduced me to R.E.M. back in the 1980's, relating perfectly to the current weather situation. As guitarist Peter Buck recalls “'So. Central Rain' is a million and a half years old. I remember when Michael wrote the lyrics to that. We were actually travelling, and we were watching the news and there was a storm front through the South [the band is from Georgia], and he tried to call home and the phone lines were down. And, if memory serves, it said 'south central rain' on the TV — or maybe Michael made it up; I can't remember.”

    Ey@el

    Did you never call?
    I waited for your call.
    These rivers of suggestion are driving me away.
    The trees will bend,
    The cities washed away.
    In the city on the river,
    There is a girl without a dream.
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...

    Eastern to Mountain third party call:
    The lines are down
    The wise man built his words upon the rocks,
    But I'm not bound to follow suit.
    The trees will bend,
    The conversation's dimmed.
    Go build yourself another home,
    This choice isn't mine.
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...

    Did you never call?
    I waited for your call.
    These rivers of suggestion are driving me away.
    The ocean sang,
    The conversation's dimmed.
    Go build yourself another dream,
    This choice isn't mine.
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...
    I'm sorry...

    © Michale Stipe, 1984

    Back to top

    Bottom of page

    « This is What Government Sponsored Mass Surveillance is Doing to Your MindSadness »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: