• Fiery Soul

    Music & lyrics by Hel translated by Kuba

    Ever heard of Viking rock? I hadn't until I came across this cool song used as background music for a video by Nouvelle Terre. Hel (1999-2004) is a Swedish Viking rock band singing about... Viking stories, all in their native tongue. The band's name is derived from the Norse goddess Hel akin to Persephone or Hecate from the Greek mythology. A humble, unassuming sharing to show that there is much more to Swedish music than Abba or Europe.

    Ey@el

    Eldsjäl

    He laid down slowly so heavy with a cry stifled in his throat.
    He thought he'd heard a voice in the chamber, but no one was there.
    He filled his body with mead, his eyes went under,
    To be reborn in a dream to the cheers of heroes.

    There I burn without a glow, there I grow strong,
    My coat of mail withstands blows and I never collapse.
    Love of our homeland gives men their strength and courage,
    Thanks to our dear folk fires still burn there.

    In quiet darkness he waits, there where the moon shines,
    In solitude he suffers pain, his heart feels cold as stone,
    Thick blood drips from his hands, he collapses.
    Flowers grow and flowers wither, hear heroes' lament.

    There he burns without a glow, there he grows strong,
    His coat of mail withstands blows and he never collapses.
    Love of his homeland gives men their strength and courage,
    Thanks to our dear folk fires still burn there.

    His sorrow found peace in the ground, a hero's grave he made for himself,
    The last song carried by the wind, whisper drowned in rain.
    My long journey is now completed, my body buried,
    Life given and life taken, hear heroes' lament.

    There I burn without a glow, there I grow strong,
    My coat of mail withstands blows and I never collapse.
    Love of our homeland gives men their strength and courage,
    Thanks to our dear folk fires still burn there.

    There I burn without a glow, there I grow strong,
    My coat of mail withstands blows and I never collapse.
    Love of our homeland gives men their strength and courage,
    Thanks to our dear folk fires still burn there.

    © Hel, 1999

    Translated from Swedish by Kuba

    « Why Scientific Proof Is A MythFood of the Gods – Sacred Chocolate »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: