• You Raise Me Up

    Music & lyrics by Secret Garden

    Share on Twitter

    Last time with The Verve (see Related articles), I had presented you one of the most disempowering songs ever — not out of petty revenge for never getting any comments, but to illustrate what to do to get sponsored by the antidepressant drug lobby. Now, I'm saving your day with this powerful antidote that I never tire of. Besides, the lyrics are quite easy to remember since they get repeated in a loop all along. This version, which is my favourite, happens to be the cover that introduced it to mainstream audiences as the original song was actually written by an Irish-Norvegian duo called Secret Garden. I'm embedding their clip as well as a bonus. Enjoy without reserve!

    Ey@el

    When I am down and, oh, my soul, so weary;
    When troubles come and my heart burdened be;
    Then I am still and wait here in the silence,
    Until you come and sit awhile with me.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up to more than I can be.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up to more than I can be.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up to more than I can be.

    You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains;
    You raise me up to walk on stormy seas;
    I am strong when I am on your shoulders;
    You raise me up to more than I can be.

    You raise me up to more than I can be.

    © Brendan Graham, 2002

    The Original Version

    Related Articles

    « 21 Ways to Raise Your VibrationHeadquarters of European Union Acknowledge Reception of Monsanto's Christmas List »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: