• The Song Remains The Same - The Rain Song

    Music & lyrics Led Zeppelin

    Share on Twitter

    Every legendary band became famous for a signature song they've been identified with for the rest of their career. For Led Zep it was "Stairway To Heaven", a great magnificent, mighty and lyrical track with lyrics full of poetry and mysticism. Yet, "The Rain Song" (released on House Of The Holy in 1973, an album much inspired by the Who's own Who's Next) would equally deserve the title of rock anthem. Especially when following "The Song Remains The Same" which it flows in quite logically and naturally as on this video. The transition sounded so smooth I've decided to let you have both at the cost of one (except it's all free). Enjoy this great moment of rock'n'roll anthology. And do not dig any further, you might not like what you find.

    Ey@el

    The Song Remains The Same

    I had a dream —
    A crazy dream:
    Anything I wanted to know,
    Any place I needed to go.

    Hear my song!
    People won't you listen now? Sing along!

    You don't know what you're missing now:
    Any little song that you know,
    Everything that's small has to grow
    And it has to grow!

    California sunlight,
    Sweet Calcutta rain
    Honolulu starbright,
    The song remains the same.

    Sing out “Hare Hare”,
    Dance the Hoochie Koo.
    City lights are oh so bright,
    As we go sliding... sliding... sliding through

    © Robert Plant, 1973

    The Rain Song

    It is the springtime of my loving —
    The second season I am to know.
    You are the sunlight in my growing,
    So little warmth I've felt before.
    It isn't hard to feel me glowing,
    I watched the fire that grew so low.

    It is the summer of my smiles
    Flee from me Keepers of the Gloom.
    Speak to me only with your eyes.
    It is to you I give this tune.
    Ain't so hard to recognize
    These things are clear to all from time to time.

    Talk, talk, talk, talk...
    I've felt the coldness of my winter
    I never thought it would ever go.
    I cursed the gloom that set upon us,
    But I know that I love you so...
    But I know that I love you so...

    These are the seasons of emotion
    And like the wind they rise and fall.
    This is the wonder of devotion,
    I see the torch we all must hold.
    This is the mystery of the quotient.
    The quotient...
    Upon us all...
    Upon us all
    A little rain must fall.
    It's just a little rain oh yeah

    © Robert Plant, 1973

    « Meditation and yoga can 'reverse' DNA reactions which cause stress, new study suggestsWhen Advice Goes Wrong »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: