• Song For A Dream

    Music & lyrics by Indochine translated by Ey@el

    Original en français

    Released last month on 13th September, that is one year after their 13 album which it is part of, this fourth single by Indochine is amongst my top favourites and the one which certainly finds the best echo in me. Incidentally, the band had honoured with a retweet as a treat for my birthday last year, which had really moved me (thank you guys!). The accompanying road-trip styled promo clip all filmed in Chile is both very emotional and upsetting on account of the harsh reality depicted in it -- in great Indo fashion since "College Boy". Like "Un singe en hiver" (A Monkey In Mid-Winter), the lyrics of this song are purely autobiographical. Nicola Sirkis is completely open about his troubled relationship with his father (which had been exposed by the media in the early 2000's, right after the tragic passing of his twin brother Stéphane who had been suffering from a lethal disease), about how he still misses his brother and how he lost his faith in God as previously mentioned in a recent radio interview, with the recurring theme of crucifixion, hallmarked by the wobbly cross of their new logo, also present. At the same time, as a founding member and sole remainder of the original line-up, Nico (as fondly called by his fans) had to carry a heavy burden in order to keep his dream alive through thick and thin and make it come true again. Whether you like the music or not, it commands both admiration and respect (except if you're an ass and it only inspires you contempt and jealousy, which unfortunately is still quite common in France). Nico has unshakeable faith in his dream and is a living example of the amazing power residing in all of us. Thank you.

    Ey@el

    I'd like to be alive
    And not to be afraid anymore.
    I'd like to love my father,
    I'd like to know what to do.
    I'd like to understand him,
    I'd like him to wait.
    I'd like to be be important,
    I'd like to be a desire.
    I'd like to be impossible,
    I'd like to see you cured,
    I'd like to watch you grow up
    And ease your pain.

    Down with the crosses,
    My dream will come true!
    Down with the devils,
    There are no gods!

    You may challenge my dreams
    Or destroy my soul,
    We will be an amazing dream.
    It's just my my life,
    It's just my soul
    We will be an perfect dream —
    An amazing life.
    I'd like to have a perfect dream.

    I'd like to be a warrior,
    A fearsome one.
    I'd like you to come back,
    I'd like to feel good,
    Receive refugees,
    Go back in time.
    I'd like not to stop ageing
    And to have never bought into it —
    I'd just like to try.

    Down with the crosses,
    My dream will come true!
    Down with the devil,
    There are no gods!

    You may challenge dreams
    Or destroy souls,
    We will be an amazing dream.
    It's just my my life,
    It's just my soul
    We will be an perfect dream —
    You will be a perfect dream.

    I was told
    All my fears would go away,
    And every night
    I would dream of an amazing life.

    And every night,
    I'd like to have a perfect dream
    And forget
    Our realities tomorrow?

    I'd like to be alive
    And be a better person.
    I'd like to love my father,
    I'd like to know how to do.
    I'd like to watch you grow upn
    I'd like not to see you suffer anymore.
    I'd like to go back in time
    When nothing really mattered.

    © Nicola Sirkis, 2017

    Translated from French by Ey@el
    © lapensinemutine.eklablog.com

    Articles connexes

    Reproduction of the above contents is strictly prohibited.
    © lapensinemutine.eklablog.com. All rights reserved.
    « Scientific Proof That Negative Beliefs Harm Your Health10 Dreams That Changed Human History »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: