• Karma Police

    Music & lyrics byRadiohead and article by Greenplastic

    Karma police
    arrest this man,
    he talks in maths,
    he buzzes like a fridge,
    he’s like a detuned radio.

    Karma police
    arrest this girl,
    her Hitler hairdo
    is making me feel ill
    and we have crashed her party.

    This is what you get,
    this is what you get,
    this is what you get,
    when you mess with us.

    Karma police
    I’ve given all I can,
    it’s not enough,
    I’ve given all I can
    but we’re still on the payroll.

    This is what you get,
    this is what you get,
    this is what you get,
    when you mess with us.

    For a minute there
    I lost myself, I lost myself.
    Phew, for a minute there,
    I lost myself, I lost myself.

    For a minute there
    I lost myself, I lost myself.
    Phew, for a minute there,
    I lost myself, I lost myself.

    © Thom Yorke, 1997

    About this song

    “It was a band catchphrase for a while on tour – whenever someone was behaving in a particularly shitty way, we’d say, ‘The karma police will catch up with him sooner or later,’” says Jonny. “It’s not a revenge thing, just about being happy with your own behaviour.” Thom laughs, “This is a song against bosses, fuck middle management!” “Karma Police” was debuted back in 1996 during the Alanis Morissette tour. Thom sang the line “This is what you’ll get” an octave higher than he does on the album, with brilliant results. Ed was the one who originally suggested they do a song based on the catch-phrase.

    Read more...

    Back to top

    Bottom of page

    « Dreams, Themes and Parallel WorldsHomecoming »

    Tags Tags: , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: