• Electioneering

    Music & lyrics by Radiohead and article by Greenplastic

    Tonight, we'll get the result of the second round of municipal elections in France. Mind you, a boring evening ahead! What could be more appropriate to perk you up a bit and keep you in the right mood than this noisy pushy track by Radiohead featuring Thom Yorke — I think I saw a Tweety Bird — freshly debarked from a North Sea trawler (or a yellow submarine) welcoming the audience on such a “cold wet shitty day” (sic). In the same vein, I also thought of "Disturbance At The Heron House" by R.E.M. and "Won't Get Fooled Again" by The Who which I'll repost some other time.

    Ey@el

    I will stop, I will stop at nothing.
    Say the right things when electioneering
    I trust I can rely on your vote.

    When I go forwards you go backwards
    and somewhere we will meet.
    When I go forwards you go backwards
    and somewhere we will meet.
    Ha ha ha

    Riot shields, voodoo economics,
    it’s just business, cattle prods and the I.M.F.
    I trust I can rely on your vote.

    When I go forwards you go backwards
    and somewhere we will meet.
    When I go forwards you go backwards
    and somewhere we will meet.

    © Thom Yorke, 1997

     About this song

    Thom describes this song as being about preaching to others through a microphone. He uses the metaphor of a politician selling his party platform to critique the live promotional shows Radiohead was doing to sell its music. In its original, 1996 live form, the song ended on a very catchy note with Thom repeating the line “Doin’ it all.” Many fans were surprised and a little disappointed at the final version that made OK Computer.

    Read more...

    Back to top

    Bottom of page

    « From Outer SpaceThe Truth Behind Russell Brand’s Message Most Of Us Don’t See »

    Tags Tags: , , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: