• Ayurvedic Tooth Powder For Sensitive Teeth And Gums

    Article by Ey@el

    Original en français

    Share on Twitter

    Highly concerned with the dangers of fluoride and unhappy with some questionable ingredients found in commercial organic toothpastes, I had been using my own home-made formula with coconut oil for over four years now until I decided to use this one instead.

    The old one was fine, but I never really found the perfect container to store it in. At best, I would use recycled commercial tubes from family and friends which turned out to be very fragile once used and time consuming to clean and fill up with a large syringe. So I've decided to try a powder version with new ingredients best suited to my parodontitis and demineralised teeth. I did some research and came up with this formula which turned out to be so perfect and efficient for me that my holistic dentist decided I wouldn't need laser prophylaxis this time (which is a very painful and costly dental treatment) and replaced it with a supra-gingival scaling. I was so happy over the significant improvement of my gum health that I mentioned about my new tooth powder which she fully approved.

    So you can go ahead, it's safe and it won't harm you. However, I would advise you to make some local test prior to use it to check you're not allergic or hypersensitive to any ingredient. If so, you may proceed by elimination starting with essential oils and amla powder). And, of course, do not brush your teeth too vigorously which might just as well be a cause for gum inflammation

    Ingredients:

    • 25 g calcium carbonate
    • 5 g lithothamnion powder
    • 5,8 g siwak powder
    • 3 g amla powder
    • 0,12 g iris root powder
    • 2 drops clover oil


    QSF 40 g

    Properties:

    Otherwise used as traditional whiting, calcium carbonate (chalk) is also the main ingredient found in most industrial toothpastes, used both as a thickening agent and softer and safer abrasive alternative to clay or baking soda which should never be used on a daily basis as it might damage your teeth enamel in the long run.

    Lithothamnion is a red alga with a high contents of minerals and trace elements (especially calcium) to protect and remineralise your teeth and gums.

    In India, siwak sticks have been used as natural toothbrushes for millennia. Its cleansing action removes dental plaque, reduces gum inflammation and whitens your teeth.

    Akin to gooseberry, amla in Sanskrit means “healer”; Ayurvedic doctors use it for its rejuvenating qualities. Its high content in vitamin C makes it especially suitable for mouth problems and sensitive or inflamed gums.

    Owing to its delicate fragrance, Iris root powder is mostly used in perfumes, but it also helps to remove stains and make your teeth whiter while preserving your enamel.

    Clove oil is probably the natural ingredient most dentists use because of its high content in eugenol. In this formula, it is used to add some flavour and freshen your breath. You may use other oils instead such as peppermint, spearmint, lemon, bay leaves or teatree, but no more than 3 drops.

    Instructions:

    Easy peasy: just mix all the powders together then add the oil for fragrance and store into an airtight container to preserve it from moisture and humidity (very important) and ensure long storage life. In doubt, if you note any change in colour or smell, it's safer to throw it away. If you don't have precision scales, you may prepare a larger amount or use measuring spoons available at specialty shops or pharmacies.

    NOTE: As you can see, I found the perfect container to prevent any bacterial or mould contamination as well as a good way not to sprinkle it all over the place. I use a flexible PET flask with a dispensing cap. When pressed it delivers a just a sprinkle of powder through the small aperture into a teaspoon where I dip the tip of my wet toothbrush.

    Do not expect much foam (not even some) but after a couple of days, you should notice a significant reduction in gum inflammations and your teeth may feel cleaner.

    I love this powder so much I filled up a small gloss tube which I keep in my handbag along with my travel toothbrush.

    Ey@el

    Reproduction of the above contents is strictly prohibited.
    © lapensinemutine.eklablog.com. All rights reserved.
    « Inquisitorial Roots of the Insane War on Natural MedicineIf like attracts like: Why do opposites attract? »

    Tags Tags: , , ,
  • Comments

    1
    Thursday 1st August 2019 at 13:35
    Nice blog to read and good conservation with common men to explain very well to them about your best services.happy


    Regards:



    Majidian dental(Fargo Dentist)
      • Friday 2nd August 2019 at 00:32

        Thank you very much. smile

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: