• Another Fishy Day

    Article by Ey@el

    Original en français

    Today is the 1st of April (what a scoop!). I'm normally supposed to throw in a decent hoax in the hope that you take the bait. But with the circumstances now and given the scarcity of comments, even assuming that you do, I still wouldn't know. Is this not crazy?

    Seriously, it ain't funny.

    No fishy tale ever is.

    So this year, I've decided to ignore the tradition and serve my April fish1 on a bed of lilies of the valley2 on May Day (in May, do as you please)3. Wicked! All the better since lily of the valley is an extremely toxic plant. But you don't have to eat the garnish, do you?

    Besides, the fish gets fishy when you stick to the “y”. Why O why has this trail of puns I've started got me in a rut?4

    I'm starting to feel like a fish out of water now. Should I cut bait and let the fishy fishy drown in a pool of nonsense? This is a fine kettle of fish I'm in. Should I drink like a fish and hang myself on a fishing rod?

    No way! Not willing to feed the fish. Come hell or high water, I mean it to be all is fish that comes to my net. After all, I'm the joker not the joke.

    The moral of this non-story is: April may have its fools, May also has its full of apples.

    But it doesn't make any sense!

    I know it's woolly thinking.

    Happy April Fool!

    Ey@el

    Endnotes

    1. ^ This is referring to the French tradition of “April Fish” which includes attempting to attach a paper fish to the victim's back without being noticed.
    2. ^ In France, on May Day, the custom is to give your loved ones a sprig of lily of the valley, a symbol of springtime.
    3. ^ This is part of a saying that literally goes as : “Till April's dead, change not a thread. In May, do as you please.”
    4. ^ I'm afraid from this point all my original puns in French do not work in English.
    Reproduction of the above contents is strictly prohibited.
    © lapensinemutine.eklablog.com. All rights reserved.
    « The Impact of Morphic ResonancePetals For Armor »

    Tags Tags: , , , ,
  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: